Assessment of Shoreline Change

Assessment of Shoreline Change

The Government of India issued the Coastal Regulation Zone Notification in 2011 under Environment (Protection) Act, 1986 to protect the coastal environment and to regulate development activities along the coastal areas, thereby aiming to ensure livelihood security to the fishing communities, other local communities living in the coastal areas, to conserve and protect the coastal stretches, to promote sustainable development in the coastal areas. As per this notification, the coastal areas have been classified into four zones.

  • CRZ-I (ecologically sensitive)

  • CRZ-II (built-up area)

  • CRZ-III (Rural area)

  • CRZ-IV (water area which includes the water areas up to 12 Nautical Miles (NM) of the territorial waters and the tidal influenced water bodies.)